keenchick

Stories and thoughts about family and life

Is there Cliff’s notes for Pinterest?

on March 26, 2012

I have a degree in e-business, as I’m telling a former classmate yesterday.  So, then, I feel that I should have a relatively strong understanding of most things internet.  I’ve grasped Facebook and even with the many changes, I can follow what’s going on.  I adapt fairly easily to the changing pages, and while sometimes it doesn’t please me much, I usually end up deciding it’s okay and moving on.  I used to be the “super user” at my former job, and was assigned the “see if it can be broken” jobs.  Mostly because I’m a button clicker.  There, I said it.    My name is Shirley and I’m a button-clicker.  (Hello, Shirley!).

I tell you all this so you’ll understand that I’m fairly adept at using the internet.  I love new applications and new technology.  So, why do I feel like such an idiot about Pinterest?  I mean, I really don’t get it.  All my friends are “pinning.”  I thought, “hey, that sounds like fun.  I’ll try it too.”  I go to the website and I have to request an invitation, which took seemingly forever (it seriously was a couple of days).  I got my invitation and you’d have thought it was Christmas morning.  I excitedly logged onto the site, entered my information and did my setup.  It asked me a few questions and finally ended with asking me to choose things about which I was interested.   I chose photography, travel, and a couple of other things.  Suddenly I was following over 80 people!  The phone rang, and I got busy, so I decided to come back to it later.

When I logged back in, there were photos of all kinds of things!  People who had “pinned” or “shared” and the number of times things had been pinned or shared.  You could “like” an item, etc.  Then I could set up my own boards to which to pin things (and THAT was a challenge to work out, as I had something pinned on one board I wanted on another board).  I’m going to have to find a tutorial on how to use this crazy website.  Please tell me I’m not the only one having this trouble!

I pinned some photos.  Hopefully people can see them.  I also keep getting notices that people are “following” me on Pinterest, which I have to admit sounds a little intimidating.  I suddenly feel like I have 50 stalkers.  I’m curious to see how this new social networking evolves, and hope that I’m not really as old as I feel watching my inability to comprehend this crazy stuff!

Leave a Reply

