keenchick

Stories and thoughts about family and life

Vacation Living

on December 29, 2014

Anyone who knows me very well knows that I don’t sit still well.  Oh, I love to sit and watch the occasional movie, and I love when we have a snow day once in a while, but I can’t do stuff like that long-term.

What people who know me well know is that I’m a bit of a workaholic.  I am anyway, but this year it has been more than usual.  We’ve been really busy at work, which certainly is not a bad thing, but has prompted me a bit to burn the candle at both ends.  As we grow and gain more business, things have gotten pretty hectic.  I started planning this trip in the spring, and now that it’s here I can see how desperately we all needed the break.  There was even a point where I contemplated cancelling it, or just sending the family without me.  There was simply too much to do.

Now what we’re here, I’m so glad I took the time for myself.  I’m great at telling everyone else in the office to go and take care of what they need, but I’m pretty terrible at doing it for myself.  As I sit this morning, at the “kitchen table” in our condo looking out at a beautiful Florida morning and watching our family activity starting for the day (breakfast in the kitchen and the kids starting to stir), there is no where I’d rather be today.

We are a little over half-way through our vacation.  We leave on Friday and make the long drive home.  There are still countless adventures to be had between here and there, and opportunities for us to reconnect as a family.  We didn’t have to come to a place so magical as Disney, but adding that in the mix surely doesn’t hurt either.  Watching Brennan get a new stuffed character for his collection, us riding rides and chattering over lunch under a shade tree about the various point where one person jumped or another laughed.  These memories will give us things to discuss for years.  As we wandered around Epcot last night, and imagined ourselves in each of the countries, we talked about the food and customs of the various places. Would we like to visit there?  What would we eat? Look at the traditional costumed clothes, and on and on.  It was a great conversation starter for future trips.  We sampled wonderful treats in France, for example.  For me, that will be the next trip, as I’m planning to take my mother back to where she was raised.

Vacation living makes you long for retirement too, in a way.  Leisurely days of doing what you want–sleeping late, sightseeing, relaxing.  Family time, and laughter over arguing about school work and running to the next “thing.”  Vacation prompts us to slow life down a bit, remove the distractions and just be with each other for a bit.  I like the people we are when we just get to be funny, entertaining people who share our meals together and enjoy our time.

Leave a Reply

