keenchick

Stories and thoughts about family and life

New Year’s Resolutions

on December 31, 2014

I sit in Orlando tonight (well, Kissimmee, technically), listening to the booming of the fireworks at Epcot, just a couple of miles away.  My work day is finished, and my deadline has been met, thanks to the dedication of my staff and the teamwork we have as a group.  I’ve been able to enjoy a wonderful 10 day vacation with my family and some very dear friends we haven’t seen in quite some time.  I’ve eaten good food, enjoyed the amusement parks, and spent quality time finally getting back to some things I enjoy.  Does it get any better than this?

As I consider the near beginning of 2015, I think about my friends who aren’t in a place where they are enjoying life right now. The ones who aren’t with family or friends.  The ones who are in jobs or relationships they can no longer tolerate.  I pray those people find peace, and that 2015 is kinder to them than 2014 was.

I think of the resolutions often made by so many (including myself) at this time of year, and I resolve to make better resolutions this year.  Oh, don’t get me wrong–it’d be great to lose some weight and be healthier and have more time “off.” I’m looking to a higher reasoning this year.  I resolve to work more on letting go of things and not stressing and obsessing over every little thing.  I resolve to do what I can do and let go of the rest, and whatever will happen just has to happen, instead of thinking I can save the world every day.  I resolve to make time to write and read and do puzzles and all the things I sincerely enjoy, and I resolve to pick up my camera and discover the world again, rather than only snapping a bunch of photos on “special” days.  I resolve to try to let go of my children’s efforts when they are less-than-stellar and to try to understand that we all learn in our own ways, and their way likely is not my way.   I resolve to stay out of drama as much as humanly possible and to step away from a situation which has the potential to implode and take me with it.  With that I resolve to politely say “I’m not interested in being involved in this” and let it go.

I resolve to become again that friend I used to be–the one who sent cards “just because” and who made an effort because I knew someone was hurting to at least send an e-mail or pick up the phone.  Incidentally, this was a resolution from last year too.  I’ve made some headway, but I’m still not where I’d like to be.  This brings me to my last resolution.  I resolve to realize that everything is a process, and to enjoy the journey.

Happy 2015 to you, and I wish you the very best on your journey this year!

Leave a Reply

