keenchick

Stories and thoughts about family and life

Kennedy Space Center

on June 20, 2016

You know how you have those moments which put other parts of your life into perspective?  Yeah, the ones which make you reflect later and realize that you received a message on several different levels.

In the IMAX theater at the Kennedy Space Center Sunday the film began to roll,  touching on America’s historical space program and plans for the future, and I watched Challenger explode again.  My heart sank all over again.  All those feelings of that day came back again.  The despair and the confusion, the hurt and the questions.  Then the triumph, the successes, the hope for the future.  I had chills down my arms.  We walked out of the room, and my husband and I discussed with our children the two shuttle explosions, and how those had happened in our lives, and we remembered them vividly.  The kids didn’t get it to the level we did, and I can now appreciate those people who talk about major life events that don’t mean as much to me.

From there we boarded buses which took us around the complex.  We saw the launch platforms and the gigantic crawlers they use to move the equipment.  They move at an amazing ONE MPH.  When they’re empty, they “race back” as the tour guide put it, at TWO mph.  She said it took 150 gallons of diesel per mile, and those things had to move three miles to the launch pad, and then back again.   Talk about commitment!

We were taken to the Saturn V rocket center where there is a full version of a Saturn V on display.  It’s magnificent to see it in person and see how big it really is.  There is the LM module and the command module.  As my boys stood there, bright-eyed, we discussed how these are the things we had seen in Apollo 13, and they marveled at the tiny space these men negotiated in the fight for their lives.  They have seen the movie, and we’ve talked about the teamwork it took to get those men home.  Seeing the spaces they actually occupied made us all appreciate it more.

There seemed to be mini-movies everywhere we went, detailing one portion or another of the program or challenges to be overcome.  My favorite was the Saturn V center’s program on the space race and how it started out so rough for us.  There were many failures, and a little progress, and then other setbacks.  We eventually got there, and then set our sights a little higher and then a little higher still.  John F. Kennedy said “We choose to go to the moon in this decade and do the other things not because they are easy, but because they are hard, because that goal will serve to organize and measure the best of our energies and skills, because that challenge is one we are willing to accept, one we are unwilling to postpone, and one which we intend to win.”

From there we moved into a room designed to look like the command center from 1968 on the day of that first successful manned launch, all the computers in the front and the display boards high on the wall.  A countdown clock ran on the wall just above the computers, and audio clips of that fateful day began to play.  As the events fell into the timeline, the larger display computer marked off each in turn.  As the timer was running down the various computer stations checking in would illuminate.  When the time for ignition start came, the whole room began to vibrate.  The excitement was palpable.  Everyone looked around and when the rocket took off, the window covers behind us actually began to bang, as I’m certain they did on each one of those launches.  Did the men in that room beam with pride each time?  Did they stand in amazement at the wonder of the whole thing each time?  I can’t imagine that would ever get old.

Maybe I’m getting sentimental in my, ahem, older age.  Maybe I’m much more in to the science of it all that I ever realized.  I  told one of our friends that went with us “it makes you proud to be an American.”  I thought about that after I said it.  I’ve never not been proud to be an American, but something about those moments of triumph make you puff your chest out a bit and walk a little taller.

As the narrator said, it was all of us who accomplished something that day.  I wasn’t born until after the event, and reading about it in school simply couldn’t convey what I felt sitting in that room.    I really felt a part of it, and it was so cool to time travel for a few minutes and feel that sense of accomplishment and excitement.

My friend and I discussed what it must have been like to live in Titusville and around Kennedy Space Center and Cape Canaveral at the time.  Everything was new an interesting.  Every rocket or shuttle launch was a new adventure, and the whole world got to ride along.  I can envision the people in the area all coming out to see it, and the influx of people who must have come from miles to be able to witness it all.

It gives me an appreciation that nothing we do worth doing is easy.  It’s not easy being married, or having children, but especially not when you’re doing something that so clearly changed the world as those men did.  All the math and computer development (okay, so the math might have stopped me right there!); all the creativity and problem solving; all the dreaming that tomorrow could be better and bigger.  One thing that really struck me was the continuing determination that lives lost in the space program were not forgotten, and that it only made the people following want to try harder to prove that it’s a noble cause and that those lives lost really meant something.

I don’t want to turn this into some big political thing–please don’t misunderstand.  I just think that lately we’ve taken our eyes off the prize, and we’re more focused on beating each other up with rhetoric and antagonism than we are with actually setting a goal and not stopping until we get there.    I hate that, because there are still so many things to do.

I have friends who have said to me that they don’t know how I could ever have started my own company or how I can work so hard to make something of it.  I think hearing John F. Kennedy’s words put that into perspective for me.  “We do it because it’s hard, because that goal will serve to organize and measure the best of our energies and skills, because that challenge is one we’re willing to accept, one we are unwilling to postpone, and one we intend to win.”    The perspective I gained this weekend is that my life is not just about raising my kids, developing my relationship with my husband, building my business.  It’s about creating my legacy, and making that legacy something incredible.  I may not have accomplished something as incredible as a space program, but I can certainly make an impact in my own industry, in my own town, in my own life.

I think the Kennedy Space Center is one of the coolest things my family has done.  If you haven’t, make a point of doing it.  If you have, remember the things you saw there, and share it with others.  That place is truly something for which we should be proud.  I wish we could get back to that world.  Pull up your fellow man, encourage him and help him and both of you can build something tremendous.    Do it because it’s hard.  Do it because you CAN.

Leave a Reply

