keenchick

Stories and thoughts about family and life

Traveling IT

on June 21, 2016

We’re traveling this week, which always presents some unique challenges to be able to work.   Several of my clients have remote systems to which I connect to perform various tasks, and it’s always frustrating when something that worked fine last week suddenly doesn’t work anymore.

Cue my IT problem solver husband, who probably wishes I had involved him a little sooner in the process this afternoon.  After I was on the phone for 20 minutes with the IT support team at the client’s office and they needed to “modify a couple of simple settings” on my computer, I was at least smart enough to realize I was in over my head when the guy changed one too many things and kicked himself off my connection.

I decided to turn it over the expert, who was none too pleased that this guy had been messing around with the settings on my computer.  It took a good 30 minutes to untangle what he did, and another 30 to get the original problem fixed.   All I had wanted to do was log on to the network and enter some data.  That sounds simple enough, right?

As I watched all their pings and commands on the screen, and watched my husband furiously typing and clicking on the keyboard I was faced with how truly ill-equipped most of us are in the computer world.  Even working on it every day like I do, and correcting equipment connection problems and the things I do with ease, I still realize that I really don’t know jack when it comes to connecting computers and networks and making all of that work with ease.

I’ve listened to him on at least four calls in the past two days where he has helped one person or another solve a connection problem, a printer problem, a software issue.  He says that it’s similar to what it’s been like all these years listening to me talk about my work, but I think he’s being modest.  His stuff is WAY harder, and it transcends industries.

I don’t pay my IT guy nearly enough, although he does get to live with me so that’s probably payment enough on it’s own, right?

Leave a Reply

