keenchick

Stories and thoughts about family and life

It’s already back to school?

on August 2, 2016

I’m always a little amazed when I haven’t written in a while and I see what flows out onto the page.  Sometimes I don’t write because I don’t have the time (well, really, that’s the most of it), and sometimes I’m trying to work out in my head what I really want to say.  Sometimes I start out thinking “I’m going to write about this experience,” and as the words flow my thought processes take me to some completely different place.  I don’t title my writing until I’m finished, thinking that the title will reveal itself at the end.  Often that’s how it works.

I didn’t realize that I had gone quite this long without writing anything this time.  I’ve missed it, and I’ve thought of all the things I would like to blog about as things have happened, but I don’t think I really engaged on how many things I’ve been through in the past couple of months.

The last I wrote, we were in Florida.  We had gone there so Brennan could attend a summer camp his aunt had arranged for him.  Louis and I worked from the hotel room and we had a really good time overall.  Brennan loved his camp, and our setup in the hotel room meant I was able to get a lot of things accomplished in a work day and, despite a couple of minor computer hiccups, the whole thing went off without a hitch.

We were home for four days, and then we left for Washington DC with our Boy Scout troop.  Four days.  I don’t think I’ve ever had four shorter days in my life.  Four days to try to catch up with everything at the office.  Four days to do laundry, change out what we had packed for a completely different type of trip, and get the vehicle ready to go again.  Four days to try to keep the house in the pristine condition my house sitter had left it.  To top it all off, I was sick again.  I had been sick early in May, and I guess with all the stress of the end of May and traveling had brought me down again.    Thankfully I didn’t get full-blown sick again until we got home from DC.

I was just visiting with a friend and we were talking about our summers and how fast the time had flown.  It seems like just yesterday we were picking the boys up for the last day at school and getting ready for their first travel of the summer, and now we go back to school in two short days.   I appreciate how fleeting that time is, and how many things we’ve crammed into not even 90 days.  Two pretty major trips, a funeral, and a system conversion at work.  Yeah, I think that’s quite enough for 90 days.

My friend remarked that she hadn’t done much this summer (she doesn’t have kids at home), and she was tired just listening to everything we had done.  After I detailed where we had been, I was a bit tired too.  🙂

Here’s to a calmer fall.

 

Leave a Reply

